DATE: 19th February 2003. Commenced: 8.05pm Concluded: 8.40pm



Jan Robson Chairman

Caroline Peat Treasurer/WI

Vicky Higgins Elected

David Pattison Elected

Anne Robson Secretary Elected


1.00 Apologies for Absence: Tony Gould, Dave Mears.


2.00 Previous Minutes: These were agreed to be an accurate record and were signed by the Chairman and Treasurer.


3.00 Matters Arising from Previous Minutes: There were no matters arising.


4.00 Chairman's Report:

Legal Status: The Charity is established by Trust Deed dated 28 April 1980 whereby leasehold land of the recreation field and its pavilion are subject of a 21 year lease set up by Leigh on Mendip Parish Council on the one part and Oliver Reginald Moore and another for the other part. The Charity Commission No is 279013-R.


Objects, Policies and Organisation: The Trust/Management Committee is established to manage the recreation field, its buildings and features for the benefit of the inhabitants of Leigh on Mendip without distinction of political, religious or other opinions with the object of improving the quality of life for the inhabitants.


The ground and its buildings are available for hire by any individual or organisation and it is intended that the charges be sufficient to meet the ordinary expenditure incurred in providing the facilities. Specific appeals, fund raising and grants fund significant improvements.


The Management Committee is elected or appointed on an annual basis, with offices being elected from the membership of the committee. The annual general meeting is usually held in January or February.





Club House:

Two days after the last AGM, there was a burglary in the Clubhouse. Two doors were smashed the till was damaged and the TV taken. The Insurance claim was around 1700 and the Insurers surveyed the property and put forward a number of recommendations to improve security in general.

Very special thanks to Derek Robinson & Steve Anderson, who came to the rescue, and carried out these improvements, which included locks to windows, hinge locks to the back door and for good measure, they also renewed the window shutters, replacing the wooden frame with metal.


Also thanks to Paul Burlison for providing us with an electrical certificate of safety, which again involved Steve and Derek in a series of electrical improvements. Paul will return to provide new switch gear to the main panel.



The annual agreement with Somerset County Council for grass cutting and of marking out of the soccer pitch free to the village continues.


The major project this year has been the completion of the Car Park works. Tarmac sponsored the supply and delivery of the stone and we contributed to the Aggregate Levy. Starting in late May, the work continued well into the autumn. Grateful thanks to all those involved, Tarmac, Community Service and the many helpers from the village.


The Elsie's Walk sign is installed, donated by Mary Nielsen and organised by Kevin McCloud, and there was an article and photograph in the local paper.


Events on the field have been the Jubilee Picnic, which involved the planting of a Jubilee tree, and the successful return of the Leigh on Mendip Country Fair. The Committee are now involved with the organisation of the Fair and plans are underway for this year.


Three new benches have been installed in the Recreation Field last year and there are plans for three more to join them in 2003. The six benches have been donated by the Recreation Field Committee, the Jubilee Committee, the Parish Council, the Cricket Club and two private donations in memory of Alan McLaren and the Moore family. Many thanks to David Lowe for engraving the benches so beautifully.


Upkeep of the field is constant. Vicky Higgins continues her sterling work with her trusty strimmer and Gerald Jeanes has helped with cutting the outfield. Thanks are also due to Gerald for sponsoring the hedge cutting to the roadside hedge. For the future, it is hoped that various sections of the field can be allocated to different people to look after.



The annual safety check on the Playground highlighted various concerns, including the presence of the concrete pipe, the safe landing tiles had separated under the main swings and the depth of the bark chippings. The pipe has been removed, the tiles attended to and Dave Jarvis now digs the bark on a regular basis. More bark will be purchased this year.


Thanks to Derek, Steve and H the fence surrounding the Playground has been painted with stain.


Fund Raising:

The bonus club draw based on the National Lottery bonus ball continues. Our fund raising activities throughout the year have been the ever popular Burns Night supper, which Vicky Higgins and friends organise so well.

It is our intention to have a second bonus club share scheme.


Outside Lettings:

The outside lettings of the ground, clubhouse and facilities have been the cricket, football, social club. Unfortunately, we did not have a regular adult Football team this year. Frome Town Boys use the pitch on Sunday afternoons and a team from The Griffin Inn have used the field intermittently. The W.I. had an archery evening in the summer and the car park was booked for a wedding.

Free of charge, the Field was used by the School for their Sports Day and the Car Park for the Village Firework night.


Managing Committee Membership:

The members of the committee throughout the year and their appropriate appointing body are:


Jan Robson

Chairman Elected

Caroline Peat


Steve Willis

Cricket/Cricket Social Club

Tony Gould

Parish Council

David Mears


Vicky Higgins


David Pattison


Anne Robson

Secretary Elected



And Finally: Jan says big thank you to all who have supported the rec' this year and particularly to the Committee. Thank you!


5.00 Treasurer's Report

CP presented the attached accounts, which had been audited by Richard Dixon.


6.00 Election of Committee Members

In the constitution, the elected members resign at the AGM and five people are required to fill these positions, re-election is allowed.


VH proposed that CP, AR and JR continue in their present positions and this was seconded by DP. JR proposed that Vicky Higgins, Dave Mears, and David Pattison be re-elected and this was seconded by AR.


7.00 Close of Meeting:

As there was no other business the meeting was closed.


8.00 Distribution:

Parish Council + Jan Robson (Chairman) Caroline Peat (Treasurer) Tony Gould (PC) Steve Willis (Cricket Social) Dave Mears (Elected) David Pattison (Elected) Vicky Higgins (Elected) Anne Robson (Secretary)